The New Me

Hi everyone!

It’s been a while since My First Blog Post, and I have changed. A business isn’t really my profession anymore (even though I love cooking!). In 2013, my brother started his freshman year at a school focused on STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math). I was not surprised when he got in (you had to enter with an application, and not many people got accepted), for he is quite smart and talented. I knew that I did not at all want to go to that school, so I started thinking about what I wanted to do when I grew up. I immediately thought of owning a business, for I had opened a website centered around that, and it had been my dream since very young.

However, throughout the next year, my feelings started to change. I sometimes imagined myself going to my brother’s school, and how my life would be different. Would I still want to own a business, or would I seek out another field, such as STEM? As I kept thinking about it, my brother excelled in his learning and capability, and I was thinking more about the latter. As we witnessed him through his sophomore year, I had (reluctantly at first) joined a group that focuses on STEM as well, but mainly women in flight (it is an all girl club). As I kept going to the meetings, something in me changed; something that I had never felt before. It was the flame of passion for aeronautics that started flickering and I unknowingly told myself to listen to it. Throughout this past year I have persevered in many fields of ‘women in aviation’, as well as STEM. That club set me on the path that will make my future the brightest it could be. I have to thank the many girls in the club, many of who have become close friends, the mentors who volunteer their time with us, and our amazing leader.

It has been about 2 years since my brother started in his school, and as I said at the beginning, I do not want to own a business anymore. This year I am applying to the school (Raisbeck Aviation High School) and I will know if I got in once January arises. I really think this is the path for me, because it will open doors that I thought were iron-clad, and it makes me excited to learn, experience, and keep moving forward.

I hope this has helped you in case you were in a choice battle, because I sure was! Thank you for taking your time to read what I have to say.

iss043e125548iss043e104515iss043e174365iss043e125677

Leave a Reply

